Journalism
Collection Highlights & Selected Web Resources
Subject Specialist for Journalism
Donnie Curtis 682-5668
To suggest journalism resources to be added to the UNR Libraries' collections,
please contact Donnie Curtis.
Instruction Sessions for Journalism Classes
To schedule a research skills training session for a journalism class, please
contact Donnie Curtis.
UNR Libraries Collection Highlights
Current Newspapers in the Getchell Library Newspaper Area
(Between the Reference Desk and the Reference Collection)
- Barron's (1994-current) Microfilm S100 + Web
- Christian Science Monitor (1908-current) Microfilm N553 + Web only
- Chronicle of Higher Education (1966-current) Microfilm N581
- Investor's Business Daily (current 6 months only)
- Las Vegas Israelite (1965-current; current issues in Special Collections) Microfilm N566 + Web
- Las Vegas Review-Journal (1927-current) Microfilm N8 + Web
- Nevada Appeal (1948-1955; 1968-current) Microfilm N41 + Web
- Le Monde (French) (current year only) + Web
- New York Times (1851-current) Microfilm N5 + Web
- Reno Gazette-Journal (1983-current) Microfilm N9j + Web
- Sagebrush (1893-current) Microfilm N447
- San Francisco Chronicle (1869-current) Microfilm N1 + Web
- USA Today current 3 months only + Web
- Wall Street Journal (1889-current) Microfilm N4
- Washington Post (1974-current) Microfilm N582 + Web
- Washington Times, National ed. in Current Periodicals current 3 months only + Web
Newspaper Indexes in Getchell Library Reference Department
- Barron's Index (1981-current) in the Wall Street Journal Index
- Christian Science Monitor Index (1969-1995) REF AI 21 C46
- Las Vegas Review Journal Index (1983-current) Microfiche S93
- Las Vegas Sun Index (1987-current) Microfiche S94
- Los Angeles Times Index (1972-1995) REF AI 21 .L65
- Nevada Newspaper Index (1991-1995; varies) Microfiche S142
- New York Times Film Reviews (1932-1986; 1989-1994) REF PN 1995 .N4
- New York Times Index (1851-current) REF AI 21 .N44
- Wall Street Journal Index (1955-current) BGIC HG 1 .W26
- New York Times Personal Name Index (1851-1996) REF AI 21 .N442
- Palmer's Index to the [London] Times (1785-1905) Index Table 3
- Sacramento Bee Index (1895-1935) Microfilm N381
- San Francisco Chronicle Index (1976-current) REF AI 21 .S2
- The Times [London] Index (1959-current) Index Table 3
- Variety Film Reviews (1907-1998) REF PN 1995 .V34
- Washington Post Index (1971-1995) REF AI 21 W3
Selected Microform Resources in the Getchell Reference Dept.
(Print indexes for these collections are on the Microforms Index Table in the Main Reference Department. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.)
- Alternative Press (1983-1991) Microfilm S331
- American Periodicals (1741-1900) Microfilm S1, S1a, S1b
- Black Culture Collection Microfilm C10
- New Boston Newsletter (1704-1776) Microprint N1
- Boston Post Boy (1734-1775) Microprint N3
- Campaign for Women's Suffrage (1895-1920) Microfilm C32
- CIA Research Reports: Vietnam & Southeast Asia (1946-1976) Microfilm M1009
- Herstory (1956-1974) [women's history newspapers, etc.] Microfilm C9
- Index of Printers, Publishers & Booksellers (1475-1640) [United Kingdom] Microfilm C2
- Nevada Serials project (1898-1994) Microfilm M179
- Nineteenth Century Microfiche C23
- Rivington's Royal Gazette (1773-1783) Microprint N2
- Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) English newspapers, etc. Microfilm C21
- Russian Revolutionary Literature Collection (1825-1920) Microfilm C33
- Underground Newspaper Collection (1961-1977) Microfilm N702 and S331
- Underground Press Collection (1963-1985) Microfilm N559 and N703
Selected Print Resources in the Getchell Library Reference Department
- American Magazine Journalists REF PS 129 .D5 vols. 73, 91
- American Newspaper Journalists REF PS 129 .D5 vols. 23, 25, 29, 43
- American Newspaper Publishers (1950-1990) REF PS 129 .D5 vol. 127
- Associated Press Stylebook REF PN 4783 .A8
- Banned in the Media REF P 96 .C42 U654 1998
- Banned in the USA: A Guide to Book Censorship REF Z 658 .U5 F64 1994
- Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism REF PN 4871 .B56 1989
- Chronological Tables of American Newspapers (1690-1820) REF Z 6951 L3
- Codes of Professional Responsibility (journalism & marketing) REF BJ 1725 .C57 1994
- Communication Abstracts (1978-current) REF Z 699 A1 C6 + Web
- Cover Story Index (1960-1989) (for Time, Newsweek, U. S. News & World Report) REF AI 3 .C73
- Encyclopedia of American Journalism REF PN 4855 .P26 1983
- Encyclopedia of Censorship REF Z 657 .G73 1990
- Freedom of the Press: Annotated Bibliography REF K 3255 .A12 M29
- History and Bibliography of American Newspapers (1690-1820) REF Z 6951 B86
- Newspapers of Nevada (1854-1979) REF Z 6952 N49 L5 1984
- Technology and Copyright Law REF KF 3030.1 .B533 1999
- Washington Information Directory (Main Reference Desk)
- Women Studies Abstracts (1972-current) REF HQ 1180 .W65
- Working Press of the Nation: Feature Writer & Photographer Directory REF Z 6951 .W6
Selected Journalism Resources in BGIC
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (electronic database)
- Television & Cable Factbook: Cable/Services/TV Stations BGIC TK 6645 .T45
- Wall Street Journal Index (1955-current)
Internet Resources
Master Sites for Newspapers, Media and Electronic Magazines
- AJR NewsLink
- Kidon Media-Link
- My Virtual Newspaper
- E & P Media Links
- United Media (Comic Strips and Editorial Cartoons)
- The Newsroom
- International News Links
- Media United Kingdom Internet Directory
- Ultimate Collection of Newspaper Links
Selected Nevada and USA Newspapers
(Many electronic publications only provide excerpts or selected text and do not exactly match the content of their print editions.)
- Chicago Sun-Times Online
- Christian Science Monitor Electronic Edition
- Las Vegas Sun
- News Headlines from 1st Headlines
- Reno Gazette-Journal
- Roll Call Online (Capitol Hill)
- USA Today Online
- The Washington Post
Reporters' Research & Writing Tools
- American Heritage Book of English Usage
- The Beat Page
- Codes of Journalism Ethics (EthicNet-European)
- Documents in the News
- Elements of Style (Strunk)
- Maps in the News
- Newsweek Media Research Index
- The Obituary Page
- On-Line Dictionaries-Multilingual
- Pulitzer Prize Board
- The Reporters Network-Organizations
- Roget's Thesaurus
- Style Guides for Research Papers
- Time Inc. Picture Collection
Press Release & Intelligence Sites
Broadcast Media Sites
- ABC
- BBC
- Broadcasters (Worldwide Master List)
- CBN
- CBS
- CNN
- C-SPAN
- European Broadcasting
- National Public Radio
- NBC
- NEXUS-IBA (International Radio)
- PBS Online
- Press Association News Centre (United Kingdom)
- Radio Free Europe
Newspaper & Magazine Publishers & Services
Current Events & Weather E-Magazines & USA Political Coverage Sites
(Many electronic publications provide only excerpts or selected text and do not exactly match the content of their print editions.)
- Alternative Viewpoints on the Internet
- Entertainment Weekly Online
- Freese-Notis Weather Net
- Money.com
- National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration Environmental News (USDoC)
- On Magazine
- People.com
- Space Online (Florida Today)
- Time.com
- UM Weather
- USnews.com
- The Weather Channel
USA Political Coverage
Censorship & Freedom of Speech Resources
- Blue Ribbon Campaign for Online Freedom of Speech
- Digital Liberty Doomsday Clock
- FACT (First Amendment Cyber-Tribune)
- Freedom Forum Online
Student & Professional Associations
- Association of American Editorial Cartoonists Online
- National Press Club
- Reporters' Organizations (Master List)
- Student Press

University of Nevada, Reno