![]() |
|
General information about the U.N. and its activities
Indexes to Proceedings, Resolutions & other Records
Indexes to U.N. and International Publications
United Nations Publications on BGIC International Reference Shelves
United Nations Web sites
1. General information about the U.N. and its activities.
Yearbook of the United Nations. 1946- . BGIC 1/U53 Y39. (Latest on International Reference Shelf)
Summarizes major U.N. activities, lists U.N. publications and resolutions on each issue, reports on actions taken by the U.N. and affiliated agencies. Contains subject and name indexes, and an "Index to Resolutions and Decisions." The Yearbook is the best starting point for background information on relevant issues and for obtaining leads to other U.N. publications.
UN Chronicle. 1948- . BGIC 1/U53 U58 M7. (Latest on Current Periodicals Shelf)
This monthly magazine contains excellent summaries of current events concerning the U.N. and its autonomous agencies. It includes references to pertinent debates and resolutions in the Official Records of the U.N. and reports voting on resolutions.
2. Indexes to Proceedings, Resolutions & other Records.
Index to the Proceedings of the General Assembly. Part 1. Subject Index. 1965-present. BGIC ST /LIB /Ser .B / A (International Index Shelves )
This annual publication covers agenda items the U.N. General Assembly addressed during the session covered. A list of agenda items and subjects is included in each volume. Publications are listed by document type, including reports, general documents, discussions in plenary and committee, and resolutions. Each entry includes a paragraph summarizing the resolution. General Assembly document symbols are given. A list of resolutions adopted during the session and a chart indicating how delegates voted on the resolutions append this index.
Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly. Part 2. Index to Speeches. 1965- . BGIC ST /LIB /SER.B / A (International Index Shelves)
Index to the verbatim records of General Assembly sessions. Indexed by country names, speakers? names, and subject. May be used to determine what speakers from a particular nation or intergovernmental organization said about particular issues.
Index to Proceedings of the Security Council. 1946- . BGIC ST/ LIB/SER.B/S (International Index Shelves)
Organized like the General Assembly indexes.
Index to Proceedings of the Economic and Social Council. 1946- . BGIC ST /LIB /SER.B/E (International Index Shelves)
Organized similarly to the General Assembly indexes.
Index to Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council. 1967- . BGIC ST /LIB/SER.B/T (International Index Shelves)
Organized like the General Assembly indexes.
Annexes. General Assembly Official Records.1960-1992/93 . (Shelved with U.N. General Assembly Official Records)
The Annexes provide subject access to General Assembly Official Records (GAOR). Each Annex covers a General Assembly agenda item or topic. They include reprints of pertinent documents and summaries of action taken on agenda items. The subjects of agenda items are listed in the "List of Fascicles" at the front of each Annex or from the indexes to the proceedings of the General Assembly (listed above).
Resolutions and Decisions Adopted by the General Assembly. 1981-present. BGIC GA/(number) (Latest on International Reference Shelves)
Contains all U.N. resolutions and decisions adopted in the previous General Assembly session. Each resolution includes its date of adoption, the vote, the meeting number and the U.N. document number of the report accompanying the resolution. Note that preliminary texts are published here; official texts are published later in the Official Records of the U.N. General Assembly.
Resolutions and Statements of the Security Council. BGIC SC/(number) (Latest on International Reference Shelves)
Includes unofficial texts of the year?s Security Council Resolutions, chronologies and a list of peacekeeping operations subject to Security Council action.
3. Indexes to U.N. and International Publications
Index to International Statistics (IIS). Index & Abstracts. 1983-present. BGIC Index Table 3, call number HA36.I53. Also available online as a component of Statistical Universe (see the library?s "List of Databases by Title").
IIS indexes statistical publications of the U.N. and its autonomous agencies. This index covers demographic, industry and financial statistics especially well. The abstracts provide U.N. document symbols. Many of the publications cited are available in the library?s IIS microfiche collection or in print publications of international government organizations (IGOs). Consult library staff for holdings.
UNBISnet - UN Bibliographic Information System
The United Nations? official Web-based index of UN publications, voting records, and speeches.
4. United Nations Publications on BGIC International Reference Shelves
Basic Facts About the United Nations. BGIC DPI/(number)
Includes information about the United Nations? history, charter, structure, budget highlights and main concerns.
Demographic Yearbook. 1948- .BGIC ST/ESA/STAT/SER.R/(number)
Includes statistics on population, natality, mortality, marriage, divorce, and economic characteristics both at the country level and in world totals.
The Least Developed Countries. BGIC UNCTAD/LDC/(year)
A detailed annual report analyzing conditions in countries with low incomes, weak human resources and low levels of economic diversification.
Permanent Missions to the United Nations. BGIC ST/SG/SER.A/(number)
This book provides contact information for member states maintaining permanent missions at UN headquarters, nonmember states maintaining permanent observer missions and other participants and observers.
Statistical Yearbook. 1948-present. BGIC ST/ESA/STAT/SER.S/(number)
This yearbook includes a world statistical summary, tables showing population and social statistics, in addition to national and international economic activity.
Trade and Development Report. BGIC UNCTAD/TDR/(year)
This annual report analyzes trends and prospects in the world economy.
Yearbook of the United Nations BGIC 1/U53 Y39 (year)
Overview of the United Nations? activities for the year and an excellent starting point for UN-related research.
5. United Nations Web sites
Links to information on the history of the U.N., how it functions, important people in its development, U.N. documents and more.
United Nations Documentation Centre
A master list of the categories of U.N. publications. Links are provided to online versions of selected U.N. publications.
United Nations Documentation Research Guide
Describes and provides online links (where available) to resolutions, speeches, press releases and other U.N. publications.
United Nations Scholars Workstation
A collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and pointers to print and electronic information. Subject coverage includes disarmament, economic and social development, environment, human rights, international relations, international trade, peacekeeping, and population and demography. Developed by Yale University Library and Social Science Statistical Library.
A web site for Model UN participants to exchange ideas, discuss topics and share information.
