FARS - Financial Accounting Research System
User Guide
The FARS database includes various Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) documents in separate infobases, such as:
FASB-OP: All AICPA and FASB pronouncements including superseded pronouncements.
FASB-CT: Contains the General Standards, Industry Standards, and Current Text sections that have been superseded but are still applicable due to a delayed effective date.
EITF: Full text of each abstract for every issue discussed by FASB's Emerging Issues Task Force since its inception in 1984.
FASB-Q&A: Contains staff Special Reports and implementation guidance.
- Starting FARS
- Go to the UNR Libraries’ database list and select FARS/FASB. This will take you to the DataWorks/Citrix login web page.
- Download and install the Citrix client software if your computer does not already have it. The Dataworks Web page will display a message if your computer needs this software.
- Log into the Citrix server using your NetID. Your NetID is the same login you use for WebCT, library and computing lab workstations. If you do not already have a NetID you can create one here. If you forget your NetID username or password, you must go to the Computing Help Desk to have your account reset.
- After logging in, your screen will display icons for a number of Citrix-accessible databases. Select the FARS icon.
- The FARS Reference Guide gives a brief overview of the disc's contents in addition to search and retrieval instructions.
- Searching for numbered FASB publications
- Use of the All view is recommended. This view displays multiple frames on the screen and makes it easy to select and display FASB publications. Example: in the Contents frame, locate the category for FASB Statements (listed under Original Pronouncements), then click on its plus sign (+). This will display a list of all available statements in numerical order. Now click on an individual publication title to display it in the frame to the right (i.e., the Documents frame).
- Using the FARS/FASB Topical Index
- On the Main Menu in the Documents frame, click on the Topical Index
- Once the Topical Index has loaded, press F3 (or open the Search menu and select Query). Type a search word or phrase, and then click OK. This will locate and tag all matching entries in the Index.
- Use the right arrows on the toolbar to scroll through the entries that match your search. (Tip: the arrow for Partition hits will identify only discrete documents).
- You may link to full text by clicking on a citation (e.g., FAS71, paragraph 29.30).
- You may print or save information to a disc.
- Click and drag the mouse to mark desired text. Press Ctrl-C to copy the marked text.
- Next, open Notepad, Word or another word processing program/text editor. Paste in the text you copied. Save the file to your computer, jump drive or other storage media.
- To print, first perform the previous steps to create a file of the text you wish to print.
- Next, open the file you created, open the File menu and choose Print.
- You may pick up the printout at the Print Station; the charge is 10 cent per page.
- Review your search history by opening the Search menu and making the appropriate selection.
- Use F6 to go back one step at a time.
- When you are finished, open the File menu and click on Exit, then log off the Dataworks Metaframe
server.
Contact a BGIC or Dataworks staff member in the UNR Libraries if you need assistance using this database - see phone numbers below:
Dataworks: (775) 682-7959 or (775) 682-5569
Business and Government Information: (775) 813-6496