English and Literature
Selected Web Resources & Collection Highlights
Subject Specialist for English
Please contact Betty Glass (682-5660) to suggest English and/or literary resources to be added to the UNR
Libraries' collections, or to schedule a research skills training session for an English class. Training
sessions are available for UCCSN classes.
UNR Libraries Collection Highlights
| American Women's Diaries: Western Women, Microfilm C19 | English Literary Periodicals, Microfilm S322 |
| Black Culture Collection, Microfiche C10 | History of Women, Microfilm C24 |
| British & Continental Rhetoric and Elocution (1519-1892) Microfilm C7 | John Muir Papers (1858-1957), Microfilm M1008 |
| Early American Imprints (1663-1800) Microfiche C22 | Nineteenth Century, Microfiche C23 |
| Early English Books, Microfilm C2 and C3 | Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, Microfiche C14 |
| Eighteenth Century, Microfilm C269 | Western Americana (1550-1900), Microfilm C15 |
| American Periodical Verse (1871-1993) REF Z 1231 .P7 I47 |
Index to Blackwood's Magazine (1901-1980) REF AP 4 .B65 Index |
| Bibliographic Index (1937-current) REF Z 1002 .B595 |
Index to Fairy Tales REF Z 5983 .F17 I73 |
| British Humanities Index (1962-current) REF AI 3 B7 |
Index to Literature in The New Yorker (1925-1975) REF AP 2 N6764 |
| Columbia-Granger's Index to Poetry (1904-1996 eds.) REF PN 1022 .G7 |
Motif Index of Folk Literature REF GR 67 .T52 |
| Essay and General Literature Index (1900-current) REF AI 3 E752 |
Partisan Review Cumulative Index (1934-1999) REF AS 30 .P372 2000 |
| Fiction in American Magazines before 1800 REF PS 375 .P58 1993 |
Play Index (1949-1992) REF Z 5781 P53 |
| Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1975-2001) REF AI 3 .H25 |
Short Story Index REF Z 5917 S5 C6 |
| Index to Black Periodicals (1960-current) REF AI 3 O4 |
Women Studies Abstracts (1972-current) REF HQ 1180 .W65 |
Literary Research Tools
- Web of On-Line Dictionaries
- Roget's Thesaurus
- Online English Grammar
- Literary Calendar
- Internet Tools
- Bible Research
- Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Style Guides
Full Text Literature Sites
- about-arts directory- literature resources
- American Verse Project of the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
- Anthology of Middle English Literature
- British Poetry 1780-1910 (Univ. of VA Electronic Text Center)
- Irish Literature, Mythology, Folklore and Drama
- English Language Resources (Univ. of Virginia's Electronic Text Center)
- 19th Century British and Irish Authors
- Shakespeare's Works
- Bartleby Library (Columbia University)
- Western European Literature (Non-English)
- Victorian Women Writers Project
Reviews
Authors' Sites
Copyright & Plagiarism Sites
- Copyright Resources
- Avoiding Plagiarism
- Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning ~ Plagiarism Awareness Guide
- Plagiarism Basics
- Center for Academic Integrity
Genres
Linguistics
- Ethnologue, 12th ed.
- The Linguist List
- Human Languages Page
- Yahoo's Linguistics & Language Index
- Summer Institute of Linguistics
English as a Second Language
- Teaching English as a Second Language E-Journal
- CNN Newsroom & Worldview for ESL
- ESL Special Collection
Children's Literature
- Children's Bookwatch Index
- Children's Literature Web Guide
- Vandergrift's Young Adult Literature Page
- The Scoop-Children's Book News
- Awards for Children's Books
- New York Public Library Children's Collection