Resources for the Study of Beowulf
Why is Beowulf important?
Beowulf is both the first English literary masterpiece and one of the
earliest European epics written in the vernacular, or native language, instead of
literary Latin. The story
survives in one fragile manuscript copied by two scribes near the end of the
10th or the first quarter of the 11th century. Until quite recently, most
scholars thought that this surprisingly complex and poignant poem was written in
the 8th century or earlier, but
Kevin Kiernan
stirred up controversy in
1981 by asserting that the work was composed in the 11th century, and
that the manuscript itself may have even been the author's working copy.
The manuscript was badly damaged by fire in 1731, and its charred edges
crumbled over time, losing words on the outer margins of the leaves. Finally,
each leaf was carefully pasted into a frame to stop this process. Of course the
frames and the paste holding them in place obliterated a little more of the
text! Fortunately, many of the lost words were recovered from a copy made before
the manuscript deteriorated. Today, ultraviolet light and other technologies
reveal
erasures,
text under the frames, and characteristics of the manuscript that were
previously undetectable.

Sir Robert Cotton
(1571-1631)
Click to see entire picture.
Portrait
used by permission.
The Beowulf manuscript is now in the
British
Library, (visit the BL's
Changing Language site for a treat!) but has been made accessible to
all by The
Electronic Beowulf Project. It was once owned by
Sir Robert Bruce Cotton, an "antiquary" or collector of
Anglo-Saxon Charters and manuscripts, whose library was among
three foundation collections brought together by the creation of the
British Museum in 1753.
Sir Robert bound Beowulf with four other MSS in a combined codex known as
Cotton MS.Vitellius A.xv, the 15th item on the first shelf of the
"press" of manuscripts under the bust of Emperor Vitellius in his
library. Other manuscripts in the Cotton Library were also cataloged by
their proximity to busts of Roman Emperors, which stood atop a series of
bookcases! Even now, the MSS are referenced by the "emperor pressmark"
system.
Beowulf & other Medieval manuscripts
Why
Read Beowulf?
Robert F Yeager. The history of the manuscript is fascinating, and if
you want to learn more about it, and the significance of the poem, start
here.
Guide to The
Electronic Beowulf Project
Kevin S. Kiernan, Univ. of Kentucky. The Electronic Beowulf is an
image-based CD-ROM edition of Beowulf.
"Editing Beowulf." Maþeliende, Volume V, Number 1, Fall 1997
Long article on editing Beowulf that contains a great deal of information
about the manuscript itself. Matheliende is a quarterly literary
magazine by the students and faculty of Anglo-Saxon at the University of
Georgia.
Digital Preservation, Restoration, and Dissemination of Medieval
Manuscripts
Presentation by Kevin S. Kiernan, Professor of English, University of
Kentucky and director of
The Electronic Beowulf Project. Kiernan also wrote
Beowulf and the Beowulf Manuscript (1981) and "The Eleventh-Century
Origin of Beowulf and the Beowulf Manuscript," in
The
Dating of Beowulf, ed. Colin Chase (1981).
Old English
Pages: Texts and Manuscripts
Cathy Ball, Dept. of Linguistics, Georgetown University. Links to texts,
translations, and images of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts.
Calligraphy and
Illumination Links
If you have ever wondered how scribes created manuscripts, or wanted to find
some examples of beautiful illuminated manuscripts from the later medieval
period, visit this site.
Beowulf and Old English Literature
Specifically about Beowulf:
Beowulf
Bibliography 1990-2003
Kevin Kiernan, University of Kentucky.
Beowulf in
Hypertext
Read the Old English or a modern version on the Web. Supplemented by
historical information, a glossary, self-quizzes, links, and more. The
presentation encourages learning and exploration. Project directed by Anne
Savage, Dept. of English, McMaster University.
[Glossary of
Names]: Who are the other characters in Beowulf?
Helpful list. Take the link back to
Grendel's
Mother's Attack to see a picture of the first leaf of the Beowulf
manuscript. Part of a
Beowulf
class site at Pace University.
Anthropological and Cultural Approaches to Beowulf
Issue 5, Summer/Autumn of The Heroic Age,
a free online journal dedicated to the study of the Northwestern Europe from
the Late Roman Empire to the advent of the Norman Empire."
Old English Literature, including Beowulf:
Labyrinth Library: Old English
List of links. Use the Search form
to look for specific types of material or keywords. Georgetown University.
Old English at the
University of Virginia
Peter S. Baker, Univ. of Virginia. Pronunciation practice,
readings, fonts, software, and more.
Carl Berkhout [Old English
Pages]
Dept. of English, Univ. of Arizona, Tucson. Selected links.
S. D. Keynes
Homepage
Trinity College, Cambridge. An excellent collection of links for Anglo-Saxon
studies, including scanned images and online maps.
Ravensgard
Anglo-Saxon Culture
Links to resources about language, literature, archaeology, Norman Invasion,
and related topics.
TOEBI
Teachers of Old English in Britain and Ireland. Has a collection of teaching
resources.
Old English contains several sounds unrepresented in the Latin
alphabet. The runes for these sounds were: æ ("asc", pronounced
"ash"), ð
("eth"), þ ("thorn"), and
("wen").
Anglo-Saxon Glossary
"An Eleventh Century Anglo-Saxon glossary from MS. Brussels, Royal Library
1650: An Edition and Source Study," by David W. Porter
Hwæt! Old
English in Context
Cathy Ball, Georgetown University. OE tutorials with audio files of correct
pronunciation.
Circolwyrde
Wordhord
Curious collection of modern concepts expressed in Old English. For example,
ymbsceawere = browser; wyrm or budda = bug.
Readings from Beowulf
Peter S. Baker, University of Virginia. Visit
Old English at the
University of Virginia for more information about Old English.
Editions and Translations
Electronic Texts
Beowulf on Steorarume
(Beowulf in Cyberspace). A new annotated critical edition based on
the original manuscript, with Old English only and Old English facing modern
English translation. Edited and translated by
Benjamin
Slade, Johns Hopkins University. Introduction contains a wealth of
information for the serious student. Site also features "Genealogies, Maps,
Glossary & Pictorial Guide to Beowulf."
Beowulf. Text with original spelling from the manuscript, Cotton
Vitellius A.xv. Georgetown University, Labyrinth Web site.
Beowulf.
Translated by Francis B. Gummere, 1910. Free from the University of Virginia
Library Electronic Text Center.
Beowulf. The Gummere translation from the
Internet Medieval
Source Book.
Beowulf.
Interlinear text with Old English and Gummere translation. University of
Toronto.
Beowulf and Judith. Edited by Elliott Van Kirk Dobbie. Columbia University Press, 1953. In LION-Literature Online.
Available off-campus
to UNR users only.
Beowulf in
Old English. First published as Beowulf and the Fight at
Finnsburg, edited by Fr. Klaeber, 1922. From the
Internet Medieval
Source Book.
Recent Translations
Beowulf: A New Translation. Bernard F. Huppé. 1987. UNR Main
PR 1583 .H77 1987
Beowulf: A New Verse Translation. Seamus Heaney. Bi-lingual
edition by Nobel Laureate. 2000. UNR Main PE 1583 .H43 2000
Seamus Heaney on Beowulf and his verse translation.
Beowulf: A New
Verse Translation (Broadview Literary Texts Series). Roy M.
Liuzza. 2000.
netLibrary eBook (UNR users only). Extensive supplementary materials.
The author has a Beowulf Study
Guide at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
Beowulf: An Imitative Translation. Ruth P. M. Lehmann. 1988. UNR
Main PR1583 .L38 1988
Web sites
The
Adventures of Beowulf
Free verse translation/adaptation by David Breeden.
The Illustrated Beowulf
A funny and original parody by Jake Wentworth, starring Bill Clinton,
Hillary, the Cookie Monster, and other celebs. The author has since
graduated from Cornell and moved on, but the parody has a life of its own.
The Collected Beowulf
Illustrated by Gareth Hinds. Graphic novel originally published as 3 comic
books. Based on the Gummere translation. Sample pages only are available on
the Web, but worth a look.
Beowulf ond Godsylla
"Meanehwæl, baccat meaddehæle, monstær lurccen;
Fulle few too many drincce, hie luccen for fyht..."
A Parody by Tom Weller, from Cvltvre Made Stupid (Culture Made
Stupid), 1987.
Books
Grendel.
John Gardner. 1971. A novel that tells the story from Grendel's viewpoint.
Available in paperback or in the library. UNR Main PS 3557 A712 G7
Eaters
of the Dead. Michael Crichton. 1976 (and newer editions). Based
on a historical (922 A.D.) commentary by Ibn Fadlan, representative
of the ruler of Baghdad, who crosses paths with some rough and tumble Vikings
in the valley of the Volga. Crichton added a meeting with
Buliwyf, a Viking chieftain who must return to Scandinavia to save his
country from the monsters of the mist. It's hard to find anything in
English about Ibn Fadlan, except for James E. McKeithen's 1979 dissertation
(Indiana University), The Risalah of Ibn Fadlan : an Annotated
Translation with Introduction.
Movies
The 13th Warrior. 1999. Based on Michael Crichton's book,
Eaters of the Dead. Antonio Banderas plays Ibn Fadlan.
Beowulf.
2000. The Beowulf story, reset in a grim techno-medieval future. Christopher Lambert, who
deserves better, stars as a rather gloomy Beowulf. Strange blend of Mad Max
and Excalibur.
Beowulf. 16 November, 2007. Directed by Robert Zemeckis (Polar Express). Screenplay by Roger Avery and Neil Gaiman.
Starring Ray Winstone, Anthony Hopkins, John Malkovich, Brendan Gleeson, Robin Wright Penn, Crispin Glover.
Music
Beowulf: The Epic in Performance.
Benjamin Bagby,
voice and Anglo-Saxon harp, recorded live in Helsingborg, Sweden (January, 2006). "Bagby, accompanying himself on an
Anglo-Saxon harp, delivers this gripping tale — in the original Old English — as it could have been experienced more
than 1000 years ago."
Sir Robert Cotton and His Library
Anglo-Saxon Charters, A Gallery of Antiquaries: Cotton, Wanley, & Kemble
British Academy - Royal Historical Society, Joint Committee on Charters.
Describes Cotton as an antiquary who collected and preserved priceless early
English manuscripts. This page is part of a larger site about
Anglo-Saxon Charters.
[Bibliography:
Robert Cotton as a Collector of Manuscripts]
Carl T. Berkout, University of Arizona. For a wider perspective see the
author's
Anglo-Saxonists From
the 16th through the 20th Century.
Sir Robert Cotton, 1586-1631: History and Politics in
Early Modern England, by Keven Sharpe (Oxford U. Press). Contains a
diagram of the Cotton Library. UNR MAIN DA391.1 .C67 S48
Their Present
Miserable State of Cremation: the Restoration of the Cotton Library,
online version of an article by Andrew Prescott, in Sir Robert Cotton
as Collector: Essays on an Early Stuart Courtier and His Legacy, ed.
C. J. Wright. London: British Library Publications, 1997. 391-454.
Cotton Genealogy
Self-described as an "amateur" genealogy, but interesting nonetheless. Part
of a conservative online magazine named Southern Style.
Robert Bruce Cotton, 1571-1631
Biographical information from a genealogy site for the Montague family.
Sutton Hoo Web Site
The Sutton Hoo Society promotes research and interest in the excavations of
Sutton Hoo, a group of burial mounds in Suffolk, England. In 1939
excavations, archaeologists found an Anglo-Saxon ship (80' long and 14'
wide) containing a rich burial treasure thought to be that of Rædwald,
King of East Anglia from 599 to ca. 625 AD, about the same era as the
Beowulf story. Objects found here are owned by the British Museum.
Sutton Hoo
History of the excavations with nice illustrations. Part of a larger Web
site on The Battle of Hastings
1066
(see below).
Sutton Hoo
Room
Has pictures of the burial ship and some of the artifacts.
Sutton Hoo [Project]
Accessible, with different pictures than the site listed above.
Sutton Hoo Artifacts: The Face of the Invader
Westminster College, Salt Lake City. The first paragraph on this page has
links to large color pictures of several well-known artifacts.
Knotted Buckle from Sutton Hoo
Sharp, large b&w photo of a stunning work of art.
Sutton Hoo Ship Burial
Rice University, Humanities 103 Lecture 9: IV-V. Many detailed color pictures of the Sutton Hoo artifacts.
The Scandinavian Connection
Beowulf is, after all, a Scandinavian hero, of the tribe of Geats.
Most of his story is said to take place in Denmark and Scandinavia. What's
the connection between Anglo-Saxon England and Scandinavia? How did an
Anglo-Saxon poem with a Geatish hero survive? In
Why Read
Beowulf? (listed above), Robert Yeager gives us a clue:
"At the time the manuscript was being copied, Scandinavian raiders had
been ravaging English shores for two centuries. This inauspicious timing
has been used by some scholars to bolster their arguments that
Beowulf
was composed before the coming of the Northmen about A.D. 790. However, a
poem featuring a Scandinavian hero may have been able to flourish at the
court of King Cnut, who added England to his Danish empire in 1016."
Who was King Cnut? See
A
Biographical Sketch of Cnut the Great, Emperor of the North.
If
you're interested in
WHERE Beowulf took place, see "
Beowulf: New Light on the Dark
Ages," by Simon Hall,
in History Today,
December 1998, Vol. 48, Issue 12. The author proposes that
some parts of the Beowulf poem took place in
North Kent, possibly on Harry Island ("Heorot" in the 11th century, and
the name of Hrothgar's Hall.)
Link to
article (Available
off-campus
only to UNR users).
For insight into the influence of the seafaring Vikings, visit
Vikings: the North Atlantic Saga,
a fresh look at an old civilization by the Smithsonian Institution. This
exhibit celebrates the 1000th anniversary of the Viking exploration of North
America, and traveled to museums around the United States in 2001.
The Old Norse
Volsunga Saga, or Story of the Volsungs, also has a
brave hero, Sigurd, who skewers a venom-snorting dragon and
gains his
cursed gold-hoard. Elements of this story are found in Wagner's
opera, "The Ring of the Niebelungs" (Der
Ring des Nibelungen) and J.R.R. Tolkien's
symbolic "One
Ring to Rule Them All," in the
Lord of the Rings cycle, as well as in Beowulf.
Anglo-Saxon and Medieval Studies
Manchester
Medieval Sources
(Formerly Medieval SourcesOnline. Available off-campus
only to UNR users)
Full-text documents and scholarly translations, with supplementary material
and links to related resources. Organized around specific works or themes,
such as Black Death, women, religion.
The Anglo-Saxons
Links to selected resources about Anglo-Saxon culture, including maps, societies and conferences, bede and
lindisfarne, beowulf, archaeological sites, everyday life and language. Publicly-accessible area of Manchester
Medieval Sources (above).
The Labyrinth: Resources
for Medieval Studies
An authoritative selection of resources, sponsored by Georgetown University.
Select English, Old from the list of links or select a category from
the search form. To find links with a specific word in the title, select
all categories, scroll down to the search box and enter a word, such as
anglo-saxon.
Voice of the Shuttle:
English Literature: Anglo-Saxon and Medieval
Good overview of major resources on the Web for the Medieval period. A
comprehensive Web site.
Online Reference Book for Medieval
Studies (ORB)
An essential site for scholars. Now hosted by the College of Staten Island,
City University of New York.
Center
for Medieval Studies
University of York. A short list of quality, evaluated Internet sites for
Medieval Studies.
British and Irish
archaeological bibliography
Pre-1992 literature on the archaeology of the British Isles. Searchable
database of 350,000 entries. Click the map to narrow your search. A fine
resource. Archaeology Data Service, University of York.
The Battle of Hastings 1066
Glen R. Crack, East Sussex. An appealing personal Web site devoted to the
famous battle with many pages about events that led up to it and lots
of cultural background information. Particularly useful is the long history
of Sutton Hoo and
two timeline pages:
Time Line 100 B.C. to 500 A.D.
and Time Line 500 A.D. to 1100 A.D.
Ða Engliscan
Gesiþas
Historical society devoted to the study of the Anglo-Saxon period. Hear
audio clips of Anglo-Saxon poetry, learn about the language,
runes, village life,
medieval birds, and more.
Regia Anglorum
(Kingdoms of the English)
Re-enactment society in the United Kingdom, "founded in 1986, to accurately
re-create the life of the British people as it was in the one hundred years
before the Norman Conquest." See the
Listing of All Regia Pages
to find articles about this historical time period.
These indexes are available on the UNR Campus and
off-campus to UNR
users only.
-
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
- Over one million citations to books, scholarly journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings,
dissertations, and bibliographies from languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. 1926 - present.
-
Arts & Humanities Search
- A citation index covering more than 8,000 titles from the world's
leading arts and humanities journals. Includes the ability to search
particular authors' works to find out who is citing them. 1980 to
present.
- Project Muse
- Search full-text journals from Johns Hopkins University press and
several other university presses. Includes some excellent
literature journals as well as arts and humanities titles.
-
Historical Abstracts
- Index of journal articles, dissertations and book reviews on all
aspects of world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United
States and Canada.
-
Academic Search Premier
- Indexes 7,800+ scholarly journals, with full text for 4,000 titles.
Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and
engineering, general science, humanities, medicine, ethnic
studies, and more. 1965- present for selected titles.
To find more periodical indexes go to
Databases, Electronic Journals, and Other Resources by Subject
and try
English, Literature, & Linguistics,
History, or
Education (for articles about
teaching Beowulf, try ERIC!).
Hasenfratz, Robert J.
Beowulf scholarship : an annotated bibliography, 1979-1990. New
York : Garland Pub., 1993. UNR Main Z2012 .H23 1993
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 vols.
1982-89. An encyclopedia with signed articles about all aspects of the
medieval period. A wonderful resource. UNR Main Ref D114 .D5
1982
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism.
The "CMLC" is a multi-volume set of reprinted excerpts from scholarly
journal articles and books. A great way to get an overview of what
scholars have said about a particular work over a long period of time,
and to get some differing opinions and approaches. The section on
Beowulf is in volume 1. UNR Main Ref PN681.5 .C57
Harner, James L. Literary Research Guide: An
annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies.
3rd ed. 1998. Essential tool for serious students. UNR Main Ref PR83
.Z9 H34 1998.
Greenfield, Stanley B., and Fred C. Robinson. A
Bibliography of Publications on Old English Literature to the End of
1972. A well-organized, but unannotated list of significant
scholarship. UNR Main Z2012 .G83
Using the Library Catalog
Finding books or other library materials about Beowulf in the library
catalog is simple, since a one-word search will suffice! To make it easy
for you, here are some search links:
Titles
that start with "Beowulf"
Subject
headings that start with "Beowulf"
Subject (Keyword) searches:
beowulf
grendel
anglo-saxon
sutton hoo
anglo-saxon literature
old english and poetry