Native Americans
Information Resources in the UNR Library
Nevada
- Native Americans in Early Nevada
- Nevada Native Americans
- Native Nevada Classroom
- Know your Nevada Indians
BGIC 29-Ed81I/9: K76-972 - Songs for Asking : Perspectives on Traditional Culture Among
Nevada Indians
BGIC 29-M98A 9:So5 - The Washoe, Paiute, and Shoshone Indians of Nevada
BGIC 29-Ed81I 9:W27-964 - UNR Library, Special Collections
Other Collections
- Microform Collections in the UNR Library (BGIC)
- UNR Library, Special Collections: Great Basin Indian Collection
Guides and Indexes
- Wilson, John S. "Essential U.S. Government Publications
for Researching Native Americans," (Article)
Documents to the People. December 1996, vol. 24 no. 4. [see copy in Legal Alcove] - Author-Subject Index to Articles in Smithsonian Annual Reports
1849-1961.
BGIC SI 1.1:849-961/Index - Great Basin Anthropology ... a Bibliography
BGIC H31 .N4 no.5. - Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial
Set, 1817-1899
BGIC KF 8201.A1 J 63. - Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States
Relating to American Indians
BGIC GS 4.6/2:Am 2. - Index to the Decisions of the Indian Claims Commission
BGIC KF 8208 .A554 (1973) - Index to Indian Claims Commission Decisions. Native American
Rights Fund, Inc.
BGIC KF 8208 .A554 (1975) [Legal Alcove] - Index to Schoolcraft's Indian tribes of the United States
BGIC SI 2.3:152. - List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology, with
Index to Authors and Titles
BGIC SI 2.3:31, etc. - List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology, with
Index to Authors and Titles : Revised to December 31, 1961.
BGIC SI 2.5 961. - Many Nations : a Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study
of Indian and Alaska Native Peoples of the United States
BGIC LC 1.6/4:N 21. - Native American Historical Dates
BGIC 29-Ed81/9: N21 - Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Bureau of Indian
Affairs
BGIC CD 3026 .I52 1965.
Laws, Treaties, Policies
- Kappler.
Indian Affairs. Laws and Treaties
BGIC Y 4.IN 2/2:L 44 v. 1-7 [Legal Alcove]
Also in Special Collections KF 8203 1903 - Documents of United States Indian Policy
BGIC KF 8205 .D63 1990 [Legal Alcove] - Executive Orders Relating to Indian Reservations: 1853-1922
BGIC I 20.2:Ex 3/4-5 [Legal Alcove] - A History of Indian Policy
BGIC I 20.2:H 62 - Indian Law Sources
- The New American State Papers: Indian Affairs
BGIC J33 .U5 class 2.
Reservations
- American Indian Reservations and Trust Areas
BGIC C 46.2:In 2/16 (1996) [Legal Alcove] - Executive Orders Relating to Indian Reservations: 1853-1922
BGIC I 20.2:Ex 3/4-5 [Legal Alcove] - Federal and State Indian Reservations and Indian Trust Areas
BGIC C 1.8/3:In 2 (1974) [Legal Alcove] - Indian Reservations: A State and Federal Handbook
BGIC E 93.I 3828 1986 [Legal Alcove]
Reports
- Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the
Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. 1881-1964.
BGIC SI 2.1: - Annual Report of the Commission of Indian Affairs to the
Secretary of the Interior (1849-1909).
(Use the CIS U.S. Serial Set Index or the CIS Index to Executive Brand Documents, 1789-1909 to find information.)
BGIC I 20.1 - Annual Reports. Smithsonian Institution. 1849-1961
BGIC SI 1.1: - Bureau of Ethnology
Indian Linguistic Families of America
North of Mexico
Bureau of Ethnology 7th Annual Report
pp. 2-142
Text (PDF) - Reports of Explorations and Surveys to Ascertain the Most
Practicable and Economical Route for a Railroad from the Mississippi
River to the Pacific Ocean. 12 vols. 1855-1860
(Volumes 1-3, 5, 11, and 12 Pt. 1 contain information on Native Americans).
BGIC W 7.14:1-12 - Territorial Papers of the United States (Chronicles events
pertaining to the 28 territories of the U.S., 1787-1912).
BGIC S 1.36: and GS 4.14: - United States Indian Claims Commission: Final Report. 96th
Congress, 2d Session, 1980.
House Document No. 96-383. Serial Set 13354. (2 copies) [Legal Alcove]
Ethnology and Census
- Bulletin of the Bureau of American Ethnology. (Bulletin 178
(1963) indexes volumes 1-100.)
BGIC SI 2.3:- Anthropological Papers (sub-series of the Bulletin)
BGIC SI 2.3: (119, 123, 128, 133, 136, 173, 191, 196)
- River Basin Surveys
BGIC SI 2.3: (166, 169, 176, 182, 189, 198)
- Anthropological Papers (sub-series of the Bulletin)
- Smithsonian Institution: Annual Reports 1879-1931, Bureau of
American Ethnology
BGIC SI 2.1: - Contributions to North American Ethnology. 8 vol. (Native
Americans from the Northwestern US, from California to Alaska)
BGIC I 17.5:1-9 - Ethnographic Bibliography of North America.
UNR Main Ref Z 1209 .M8 1975 v.1-5 - The Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory: the Cherokee,
Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole Nations. 11th Census, 1890.
BGIC I 12.7:In2/1. - The Indian Tribes of North America
BGIC SI 2.3:145. - Tribal Enrollment
BGIC I 20.2:T 73/10/984.
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
- American Indians
UNR Main Ref E76.2 .A45 1995 Vol. 1-3 - Encyclopedia of North American Indians
UNR Main Ref E76.2 .E53 1996 Vol. 1-11 - Folklore of the North American Indians : children's anthology
BGIC 29-Ed81/9: F711 - Handbook of American Indian Languages
BGIC SI 2.3:40. - Handbook of American Indians, North of Mexico
BGIC SI 2.3: 30/ pt.1-2. - Handbook of the Indians of California
BGIC SI 2.3:78. - Handbook of North American Indians
BGIC SI 1.20/2: - In the Valley of the Ancients : a Book of Native American Legends
BGIC I 29.2:L 52. - The Indian Tribes of North America
BGIC SI 2.3:145. - Native America in the Twentieth Century : an Encyclopedia
UNR Main Ref E76.2 .N36 1994 - The Native Tribes of North America : a Concise Encyclopedia
UNR Main Ref E76.2 .J64 1994
On the Web
- An American Indian Web Page
- Gateway for Native American Internet Resources
- Links to Aboriginal Resources
- Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
- Indian Health Service U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
- Marilee's Native American Links
- National Museum of the American Indian
- Native American Indian PlentyStuff
- Nevada American Indians Index
- Native Americans: Calaveras Big Trees State Park
- Native Americans - Funsites.com
- Native Nevada Classroom
- Native Spirits
- Nevada Native Americans
- Oneida Indian Nation

University of Nevada, Reno